MARAC Distinguished Service Award

On an annual basis in the spring, the Mid-Atlantic Regional Archives Conference gives out the Distinguished Service Award. This award recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to MARAC which have contributed to the success of the organization, as well as contributions to the broader archival profession. Service to MARAC is weighted more heavily. This recognition is accompanied by a $250 honorarium, provided through the generosity of Hollinger Metal Edge, Inc.


Nominations can be made by any MARAC member by submitting the Distinguished Service Award Nomination form (Word /PDF)The form should be returned to the committee chair no later than January 31. Any member wishing to make a nomination is strongly encouraged to provide additional letters of support for the nomination, which may be sent with the nomination form or under separate cover to the committee chair.  In addition the nominee's resume (or curriculum vitae) and a letter detailing why the nominee should receive the award should also be submitted to the committee chair.


Contact the MARAC Distinguished Service Award Committee Chair by emailing Sara Borden at [email protected]

Award Recipients

  • 2024: Sharmila Bhatia
  • 2023: Jennie Levine Knies
  • 2022: Geof Huth
  • 2021: Jim Gerencser
  • 2020: Susan McElrath
  • 2019: Mary Mannix
  • 2018: John LeGloahec
  • 2017: Danna Bell
  • 2016: Lauren Brown
  • 2015: Susan Hamburger
  • 2014: Ben Primer
  • 2013: Lisa Mangiafico
  • 2012: Ronald Becker
  • 2011: Janet Linde
  • 2010: [No award given]
  • 2009: Jodi Koste
  • 2008: Bruce Ambacher
  • 2007: James B. Byers
  • 2006: Leon Stout
  • 1992: In honor of MARAC's 20th Anniversary, the following Distinguished Members were recognized: Ronald Becker, Mary Boccaccio, Donald F. Harrison, Leonard Rapport, and Martha C. Slotten


Last revised March 2022